Hero Background



The protection, preservation and creative management of forests ecosystems contribute to economic growth, poverty reduction and greater food security. Such cost-effective action also helps communities adapt to climate change and securing the rights and livelihoods of indigenous peoples and local communities. Photo ©FAO/R. Heinrich

Header Image

Contact: Iván Valencia, ivalencia@minambiente.gov.co

The Lima Challenge is an initiative led by forest developing countries to “do their fair share” through unilateral action to reduce forest-based emissions, and went one step further by declaring that they stand ready to do even more with international support. In the Lima Challenge, countries declared their intention to come forward with ambitious domestic climate goals that support their sustainable development goals, and connected to this, to quantify additional ambition that could be achieved with international support.

The initiative has been launched under the Lima Paris Action Agenda (LPAA) to strengthen cooperative climate action throughout 2015 and beyond. It also is related to the New York Declaration on Forests.

Participants endorse the global goal to at least halve the rate of loss of natural forests globally by 2020 and strive to end natural forest loss by 2030.

The Lima Challenge has 14 signatories: Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Guyana, Liberia, Nepal, Panamá, Paraguay, Peru and the Philippines.

National government agencies are expected to act in collaboration with local governments, organizations and communities.

The Lima Challenge countries receive funding from Germany, the United Kingdom and Norway. The initiative aims to match additional commitments to action by forest countries with corresponding financial support by donor countries.

For more information on the initiative, please visit this page or contact Iván Valencia, ivalencia@minambiente.gov.co

Photo credit: UN Photo/Logan Abassi

Lettre d'information